A request

To all resident Hindus on the board. Thank you for sharing your knowledge. As an interested learner I have a request. What would you recommend as a good English translation of the Vedas and Upanishads. I am looking for something that is accurate and may offer some commentary (footnotes and such) for a curious learner. Backround information/history is always good to if included. I am a fairly new student to Yoga, but as of late have found a need for more substansive material than Wikpedia.

Thank you in advance for your assistance.
Nameste
TeeA

[QUOTE=TeeA;61385]To all resident Hindus on the board. Thank you for sharing your knowledge. As an interested learner I have a request. What would you recommend as a good English translation of the Vedas and Upanishads. I am looking for something that is accurate and may offer some commentary (footnotes and such) for a curious learner. Backround information/history is always good to if included. I am a fairly new student to Yoga, but as of late have found a need for more substansive material than Wikpedia.

Thank you in advance for your assistance.
Nameste
TeeA[/QUOTE]

I cannot point you to specific links or books but I can give you some advice;

MAKE SURE YOUR READ TRANSLATIONS DONE BY HINDU SCHOLARS.

I hate to say it, but translations of the Upanishads done by most Westerners are horrendous. They simply don’t have the grasp of Sanskrit that is otherwise gained by growing up learning Sanskrit, by growing up in that culture. I hope you understand the language/cultural barrier involved here.

With that being said, I’m sure SD and Sarva and point you to some online books and paper texts. I’ll PM them to make sure they notice this thread right away.

And its actually spelled “Namaste.” :smiley:

Namaste TeeA,