Anorexic student

A young woman has come to me for one-to-one yoga class who describes herself as a “recovering anorexic.” She is still extremely thin and dislikes general classes because she feels self-conscious. We are focusing on two related themes: “growing to love curves” and “opening the heart” - so lots of gentle backbends. I’m also getting her to do plenty of really solid, grounded asanas to encourage her to feel more stable. We also peel and chop vegetables together, silently and mindfully, at the end of our practice! I know it sounds strange, but I hope it will help her to interact mindfully with food, really focusing on the beauty of what is provided for us to eat. All is going well, she is an intelligent and dedicated student and I appreciate everything that she is teaching me. However, I’m the first to admit that I have no experience with people with eating disorders, so any advice from you would be most welcome. Stay well and have fun. K. from Ireland

Sounds to me like you are doing a great job with her. I love the idea of silently cutting vegetables after class with the feelings of humility. This is exactly how I learned to prepare meals while living in Muktananda’s ashrams. Sometimes chanting tapes were played in the background to direct our attention to the omnipresence of Grace.