Asana is the third limb of the eight limbs of yoga as extolled by [wiki]Patanjali[/wiki] in the [wiki]Yoga Sutras[/wiki]. It is the yoga poses or postures.


Patanjali’s deeper frame of reference suggests that he is referring to the steady and comfortable postures of all the three bodies, physical as well as astral and causal so that they will unhinge the awareness locked in them to pave the way for dharana, dhyana and samadhi.