Ashtanga Yoga Addiction has hit me: What to do about it?

Dear YF members

I need to write here about my yoga journey and my concerns relating yoga addiction and especially ashtanga yoga.

I started practicing integral yoga 4 years ago 1-2 times a week in led classes and in general terms I always found these classes relaxing. About 7 months ago I bought a book of ashtanga yoga and since I do not have ashtanga classes nearby I started practicing at home the primary series. I was instantly hooked by this system of yoga and start practicing 4 days a week and then 5 days a week. The days I did not practice I felt horrible craving the practice and with a lot of anxiety.

Because I did not like these feelings and I did not want to quit the practice I fall in love with I made some travelling to consult a certified ashtanga teacher. The teacher said that I was doing full primary when I was not supposed to and cut the practice in half saying to practice 6 days a week. I followed his indications but the days I do not practice I feel the horrible anxiety and yoga cravings again. Moreover I am always reading ashtanga yoga blogs, articles and every book I can put my hand on. The ashtanga fever has become an obsession and now it is interfering in my daily life.

I did some research about ayurvedic medicine about the doshas and I found I am a vata-pitta. This made a lot of sense because one my problems which I have been dealing all my life was anxiety leading to a nervous breakdown and severe depression 3 years ago and I have an obsessive and addictive personality.

The nature of the ashtanga series makes the practice very competitive for me. I thought that with time and dedication I would surrender to the practice and my anxiety would be controlled but in fact the more I practice the more anxiety and obsessions I have.