Baddha konasana

Hi, I heard that baddha konasana is contra-indicated in women who have recently given birth. Can someone explain why this is?

I haven’t heard that. I do know that it is actually beneficial to pregnant women though.

The short answer is, the post-labor hips are returning to a normal position and baddha konasana is a very “open” position. I think a few months is the normal time frame to wait after birth. Of course, I have no personal experience. :smiley:

I hope this helps.

Paul

Baddha konasana (bound angle pose) is a wonderful asana to use during pregnancy, and up to delivery, to support the apana prana vayu (the downward moving prana vayu) and to support the vata dosha. On the annamaya kosha, this posture strengthen the hip flexors, sartorius, glut medius, and external hip rotators. It stretches hip adductors. All wonderful to support that external rotation and openness needed to prepare the hips and sacrum for birth and to move that baby safely out. The drishti of baddha konasana is on the 3rd eye, which is also the spiritual heart; this builds love with a kapha-type quality to it–a steady and readied love prepared to deliver the baby in the face of great pain or fear.