Beginner with issues

Hello everyone,

I have spent the last few days reading and exhausting all the valuable information from these forums - which I must say have been very interesting for me.

I am new to both yoga & meditation. The reason I took interest is due to high stress levels with work and several mindlessness issues, such as not being able to stop my mind draining my energy through tireless & pointless wandering, a small - medium obsession with fitness, food and never being able to find a balance that makes me happy. I find it takes up all my time, yet I can’t justify a compromise.

I have found a mix of yoga and meditation has had positive results so far (I have practised regular mindfulness of the breath for 5-10 mins), however I am still struggling to slow down and appreciate here and now. I find myself constantly beating myself up striving to better myself without having a clear goal - specifically with my fitness & gym.

Any advice about any practices which may help me come to terms with my life and give me guidance on how to control my mindlessness is greatly appreciated.

Thanks