College student in need of your opinion on the yoga mat!

Hi! I am an industrial design student from the University of Illinois at Champaign Urbana. I am doing some research on yoga mats and accessories. My project is to rethink about the yoga mat, how to improve it, if it even need to be improved.

I am interested in what you think about the yoga mat. What is good and bad about the products you use (what is working for you and what is not)? I want to understand how you interact with the products (how often you use it, how you use it, how do you feel after using it. Do you enjoy using the products? What are the benefits after using it?)

Please tell me a little about yourself. (age range, sex, any children? how long have you been doing yoga? how often do you do yoga? Why do you choose yoga over the other form of exercise?) I know that there are a lot of questions to answer, but please answer any of the above if you can.

Your help will very much help me with my project and my research process! Thank you!

Baozhen

love to reply. Which professor is overseeing your project please?

I have a TA for this class. This is a junior studio project. The project is to look at existing products to improve. I mainly want to hear about your experience with the yoga mat. Any information you can provide for me will be greatly appreciated!

Classically yoga mats were not used, didn’t exist. The physical practice was not done on a slice of rubber.

However, today’s asana practice seems to warrant some sort of thingie. And there are all sorts of thingies. Some are sticky, some are slippery, some are smelly, some are not. Some are made with eco-friendly materials, others are not. Some fall apart quickly, others will last for centuries.

I have three mats which serve me in my practice. I suggest others find a mat that serves them in theirs.

gordon

is the thickness of the mat important to you?