Dangers of Chakra meditation?

Ok so after having a couple traumatic experiences some months ago I’ve just felt “off” internally for lack of a better word. I was thinking maybe some type of Chakra meditation may help to get things flowing right again.

But, I’m an EXTREME beginner and have never done any sort of chakra meditation…I’ve read here and there about kundalini syndrome and since I would be doing this without a teacher or any real guidance other than the internet I was a little concerned, I don’t wanna make my problems worse. Have any of you experienced kundalini problems?? Is something like that very common.

run a good 5 miles or swim and do simple yoga exercises, breathing exercises to begin with… :stuck_out_tongue:

i’ve heard of people who have practiced yoga for years run into serious health issues due to kundalini techniques. Better just do normal exercises than go for amateur advice or try something not presented fully (in a book or online)…

In my opinion, there is NOTHING negative about ANY of the experiences these people are having. It’s part of the process. The issue is that we have a tremendous amount of “teachers” who are nowhere near experienced enough to help guide their students through these experiences. Instead, they instill fear and “syndromes” which is the exact opposite of what the student needs. Students used to work closely with gurus who acted as psychiatrist, guide, shaman, and more. Now we work with someone who spent two weeks at a retreat in Mexico.

The buzz-phrase we so often hear these days is, “You need to work THROUGH it” but then when the student is knee deep in exactly that, “SOMETHING IS WRONG OMG PANIC!” It’s like telling a student who is scared of spiders that they should go into a tank full of spiders and then freaking out when one gets on their shoulder.