Guidance for A Beginner

Hi. I am new to this forum and this is my first post. I have been doing yoga almost daily at home (from DVDs) for about 6 months and am looking for a little guidance on moving my yoga practice forward.

As far as my physical health goes, it is pretty good, but not excellent. I am 47 and a few pounds overweight (just in the first catagory of overweight on the bmi chart). The only health issues that I have are osteopenia (for which I am hoping that the yoga will help with), overuse arthritis in my hands and wrists (computer usage), and some general joint inflammation. Other that that, everything else is fine. Also, I have been vegan since 1990 and also do not consume much sugar at all.

For my yoga practice, I have several DVDs that I am using on a daily basis. I am using different a different DVD each day of the week. Most of these are 20 to 30 minute sessions, and each DVD focusses on something a little different, which I like. Since starting, I have progressed quite a bit and I often have those sessions of being able to accomplish something that I have never been able to do before. I still cannot do all of the poses that are in the DVDs that I have (such as Warrior III and Upward Bow), but I am working on those (and enjoy the challenge).