Herniated disc

I have been studying some of the books written by Viniyoga teachers and I notice in some books Utthita Trikonasana is performed with the feet pointing forward. I was taught that one foot turns out to 90 degrees and the other in 15 degrees. My questions if not whether one is right or wrong but the effects to the structure of each. My understanding is if the feet are pointing forward you slightly come forward before going to the side to place the hand on the floor. In trying this I find if I don’t go slightly forward the hand won’t reach the floor as the pelvis and ribcage come into contact with each other. I also would like to know which method you would consider safer in general and especially with those who have sacrum or low back problems. It would seem to me with one foot turned out the sacrum is more vulnerable.

I have a student who has a herniated disc. I am a new teacher and am not too informed on how to proceed. I have been told that those with disc herniation should not do strong forward bends or lateral bends. If this is the case, is there something they can do as an alternative while the class is doing these types of poses that can help his/their condition.

Thanks you for your help. Sharon

Good question and well framed. Indeed the point is not how to do the pose but rather what is happening to the body in the manner in which the body does it. Changing the way in which they do yogasanas benefits many people with postural misalignments or injuries. I feel it is safest to look carefully at the student and assure that they are not harmed, stressed or aggravated but helped by this potentially beneficial practice.