How do I become a yogi?

Hi all,

Newbie here. I’m a New Zealander (Kiwi) living in Melbourne, Australia and work full time as a legal secretary. I’ve been practicing hatha and iyengar yoga on and off for the last 5 years. For the last couple of months I’ve been in an “off” period and not practicing much (mostly due to physical and mental illness issues).

I’ve finally realised how beneficial yoga is for my body, mind and spirit and day to day life. I want to commit to a lifetime practice and set up a home practice. I want to embrace yoga and learn everything about it. I want to become a yogi…

How do I go about this? Even after 5 years I would still class myself as a beginner of yoga, I’ve only scratched the surface on what there is to know. Are there any good books that I could use a guide? Do I need to attend more classes? Are there courses I can do? Do I need to find a yoga master to teach me, and if so, where?

I really don’t know where to start. Any guidance would be much appreciated!

[ul]
[li]How to go about it - start by learning and living the Yamas and Niyamas.[/li][li] Classifying yourself as a “beginner” is perfect.[/li][li] We too have “only scratched the surface”.[/li][li] Five sacred texts make up the philosophical foundation of the practice.[/li][li]From the above, consider starting with the Bhagavad Gita.[/li][li]Taking asana classes is very helpful - find someone who knows what they are doing and is living what they teach.[/li][li]There are more courses than you can shake a stick at. Frankly most of them are inadequate, poorly designed, or poorly conveyed. Shop very carefully.[/li][li]A master teacher is VERY helpful. Unfortunately most of the people purporting to be so aren’t. It’s a conundrum. There are however some very good, ethical folks who still have their integrity intact. They are mostly hidden.[/li][/ul]

1 Like