Kundalini for a beginner?

I am a total beginner when it comes to yoga, meditation and spirituality. Lately, I have been very interested in finding some feeling of spirituality in myself, and a new meaning of Life in contrast to work-home-home-work Life style. Also I am very curious about consioussness and how it works. I have googled and googled and come to the conclusion that Kundalini yoga is what I am looking for.

However, I have read some scary stories and I am now unsure of whether I should start with practicing Kundalini yoga. I am scared of spontaneous Kundalini awakening and things I’ve read about it.

I started anyway with a pranayama course, I’ve been there just once so far, and the teacher just started with the breathing exercises. No information about Kundalini ,or precaustions etc. The course has experienced and beginners, and it seems that it doesn’t matter what you are. But is this wise? What am I doing in a pranayama course? Is it the right place for me?

What I really need, is a long and stable development process to enlightment. I want to work on my chakras first, and let it all take its time. I don’t want to rush into things. So is pranayama really the right way? What is the right way?

Please enlighten me with your experience! I really want this to be a new Life meaning for me, without the fear of Kundalini syndrome, I want it to be a stable journey to something different!

Blessings Maryland,

I just started sharing my Path, and if i am reading you right, it fits with what you seek: a gradual, balanced, gentle, joyful, and pleasurable journey towards experiencing life in all its depths and heights. If that’s you, then my Path will benefit you along your Way.