Meniscus tear - to surgery or not?

I have been practicing yoga regularly for about 25 years. A teacher adjustment in frog pose 2 1/2 months ago initiated what later turned out to be a tear in my meniscus. I am very active and it’s been so hard not to be able to have a regular active yoga practice or take my nature walks. I can’t do janu sirsasana, child’s pose, badha konasana, pigeon, any cross leg position, virasana or so much else. Even if they don’t hurt too much at the time when I take it really slow and gentle the next day I can barely walk.

I went to a doctor today who said I don’t need surgery if I can live with the symptoms, but I can’t bear the thought of not being able to do so many of my favorite poses or hiking etc. She said it was a pretty short and easy recovery, but no pressure from her at all. So I chose to schedule surgery. I am not the surgery type. I normally don’t even take aspirin and believe yoga can heal lots. But I can’t live like this. Yoga saves me every day. I don’t know how I would survive without being able to practice my yoga and take walks for a year or more. Also, even if I did avoid any exercise (!) would I ever be able to do deep knee bending poses again? I am quite flexible and practice good alignment. For those who forwent surgery does it actually heal? I heard the lack of blood flow in cartiledge makes healing hard or impossible. in this case surgery seems like a good option. What am I missing? Thanks for any light you can shed.

Recovery without surgery takes a long time, and the threat of re-injuring yourself is always there. With that said I am not telling you what you need to do, I am only telling you what I went through when I tore my meniscus in 2 place and did not go for surgery

Hola Gilly.