One leg shorter than the other

Hello

10 years ago I had car accident, in which I fractured my femur and lost 3 cm of it. This is why I have a physical imbalance, in my daily life I use special insole so I dont damage my back in future days... But for yoga I dont use any so I try to stretch the most and create a corporal balance for the asana practice, I do Ashtanga and Anusara, It doesnt really hurt, but I would like to know if this is OK in long term for my back.

Thanks

Just a quick thought: I think it wouldn’t be a big problem if one leg is shorter since we not walk around and I cant think of some asanas where this would be an issue. I think it might be some other related parts that could be more of an issue. If any. I don’t know. Just try listening to your body and if it feels ok. Then it’s ok.

I’ve had surgery on my left shoulder cause of dislocation and sometimes it hurts in some asanas. But I just try to adapt a little. If the body is damaged and uneven. It’s not so big problem in yoga I think because it use to threat one side at a time.

Hello Leda,

So it is your contention, or the contention of your healthcare provider, that the actual measurement of one thigh bone is not similar to the measure of the other? And that is a current situation (measurement) despite the fact that the accident was a decade ago? Is this correct?

Obviously in symmetrical poses there might be some difference to account for. I personally would not pursue anything other than an alignment-based practice is such a state but that is not to state that one would definitely, without a doubt, develop issues in the future. Such things could affect the orientation of the pelvis and foster imbalances that a sound alignment-based teacher might want to guide you in countering.

Hello again. I was tired when I wrote that :slight_smile: came to think of a few poses that are symmetrical, like:
surya namaskar
padangusthasana
prasarita padottanasana