Pain at bottom of sternum

Hi all,

I’m a healthy, fit, 24 year old male who tried yoga for the first time about two weeks ago. I actually did the yoga routine from the “p90X” program if any of you are familiar with it.

Since then, I’ve been feeling pain just below the bottom of my sternum and maybe a centimeter to the left. I can actually feel a lump there, and when I put pressure on it, it is quite painful. I can actually see it bulging out if I look in the mirror after a deep breath and leaning back slightly. Pushing on it makes me feel slightly nautious, and I can feel it all the time as a dull, uncomfortable pain.

I’m fairly confident that the position he called “vinyasa” is what caused this problem. It’s where you lay on your stomach and, with your elbows tight to your sides, lift your torso and arch your back. I’ve never done this type of stretching before and I think that I may have pulled something in there. Maybe stretched cartilage or something? I don’t know. The last time I did the yoga was about 5 days ago and the pain hasn’t gone away. Has anyone experienced anything like this before? Any advice?

Thanks so much.

Doctor.
I’m not one, but that sounds like what my aunt described when she had a hiatal hernia.

Mind you, this is anecdotal. But – is the lump still there?-- it’s probably the safest way to go.

[QUOTE=Techne;19494]Doctor.
I’m not one, but that sounds like what my aunt described when she had a hiatal hernia.

Mind you, this is anecdotal. But – is the lump still there?-- it’s probably the safest way to go.[/QUOTE]

Thanks for your help.