Personal Trainer/Yoga teacher

I am a 10 year A.C.E. PT. I have been teaching yoga for about 8 years (not YA certified). I will be getting my 200 hr cert. this spring. My question is this; I have been networking with local yoga teachers quite a bit recently as I feel it is a great way to learn. I am finding that a LOT of them are very weak in the areas of human anatomy and human movement. I was speaking with one of them about seperating or combining movement in saggital, transverse and frontal planes and she was baffled. Am I wrong in thinking that is very basic knowlege of human movement? Another had no idea where the popliteal space was and which muscles attached/originated in that area. Even teaching Pranayama is much easier when you can explain a bit about diaphramatic function from a clinical perspective. All I can say is that I use my knowlege of anatomy a great deal in my classes and cannot imagine how I would teach without it. I worry that it is just too easy to get a RYT for those that think it is a “cool job”.

I agree that many people pursue certification without a full understanding of the human body, but many also pursue it without a full understanding of the important theories and philosophies that are the foundation of Yoga. Most people don’t raise a fuss about it, but I think a thorough understanding of it is crucial to being a good student before you even try to become a teacher. I digress, though… Back to the body.

Though I know that greater medical awareness (not just anatomy and physiology, but the etiology and pathology of physical and mental disease) is an asset that should be sought, I don’t feel that advanced medical training is necessary in order to be a teacher who truly sees and listens to their student, and who is capable of giving practices which are appropriately designed within the capacity and limitations of the physical body.