Sartorius

I have been practising Iyengar yoga for approximately three years and have always had a ‘good’ side and a ‘bad’ side. I have always thought that this is natural and would be with me forever.
However lately my right/bad side has started to develop some particular aches and pains.
My right shoulder is has always had pain after gomukasana and now seems to be getting stiffer so much so that now I have to use a belt to catch hands whereas I could always catch hands. This has been coupled with a repeated twisted facet joint on the right side, although I don’t know the associated vertebra, which I have had osteopathic treatment for. This treatment was very specific though and not at all holistic. The more I try and get to the bottom of the problem the more I am sure that my right shoulder is more rounded than my left. I have tried doing daily shoulder exercises but have made little or no progress.
My feeling is that the problem is somehow linked to my right hip. This hip has always been much stiffer than my left which is very free in comparison to many others in the classes that I attend. It seems to be the Satorius that has much of the restriction. My plan is to see whether the Sartorius responds to focussed stretching. The additional symptoms are sciatic/sacrilliac discomfort and hamstring pain. I rested my hamstrings for three weeks and the pain came back instantly even with gentle stretches. Incidentally I think the affected hamstring is the Semitendinosus. If I get encouraging response from the Sartorius I was then intending to focus more on the Piriformis.
The asana which illustrates the problems that I have best is Ardha Baddha Padmasana when the right leg is bent the knee is pointing up into the air whereas on the left side it is on the floor. Also though in Virabhadrasana II to the right I can do a good pose with leg bent to 90 degrees but on the other side I need more distance between the feet and don’t achieve the 90 degree angle.