Should I tone down the "spiritual" aspect of my classes?

I’m a 20 year old instructor on a college campus and I love it! But many of the other group fitness classes are fitness based and while mine definitely have that aspect, I tend to draw from my background. I have studied in ashrams and my mother is the spiritual head of a new thought church. At the end of class, when I bow and offer “Namaste”, no one responds. Are they scared of my modern-age “woo-woo” yoga? Is it refreshing? I don’t want to scare people off, but I also want to stay true to what I love about yoga- that sense of connection.

I would do a 1 minute sea of ohms, then a quick Namaste

I can relate to students who don’t care for the spiritual stuff. I just want to actively stretch, especially at $20+/hr. Every 3 minutes is a dollar, so the less time wasted on chit-chat, the more I get out of the class.

I’d skip savasana, too, and instead give students the option to go inverted or to go nap for 5 minutes.

1 Like

Maybe they don’t know what namaste means? That it’s like saying hello or goodbye in that you answer someone back when they say it to you?

I personally don’t regard namaste as necessarily spiritual, any more than goodbye is (which used to be “God be with ye” before it was shortened over the centuries). It could be just a friendly greeting or send-off.

Anyway, that doesn’t help you. I would explain to your class what namaste means and say that when you say it, they are free to answer namaste back. Then it’s up to them.

1 Like

I agree with curlytoes’s reply

It looks like you never explained importance and meaning of ‘Namaste’. Many classes have this issue with using “Om” also. It is ok if you get this response at some place you are representing first time and audience don’t know you but in your own class this is pointing your addressing.

Response of student is based on his / her level of maturity and understanding about yoga background.