Student/ Teacher

Namaste, Mukunda
I’ve been teaching yoga for two years. After a class this morning a new student stayed to talk with me. She said that she had been moved by a comment I had made while students were in Virabhadrasana. (I had mentioned the courage of the warrior and asked how we can be warriors for peace.) She asked me to tell her more so I talked with her a few minutes, explaining what I could and telling her of my own journey with the idea of peaceful warrior. I could see that my words were going deep and as I finished she was very open and was looking at me in a way that was new for me as a teacher. I can say that it was a spiritual moment. She was waiting for something from me, I think. I wanted to take her head in my hands and say, Daughter, be blessed - or something like. I should say here that I’m 61 and I guess her to be in her twenties. I wanted to bless her, but I don’t feel that I am realized enough to do that as a teacher. At the same time, I’m awake enough to know that it is within me to give a blessing, as it is within us all. But I don’t want to set anything up that shouldn’t be set up. Please advise. Thank you.

Clearly it was a blessed moment and in her eyes you are a blessing. I would go ahead and give her your blessing. You are a senior teacher, not due to your age but to your sensitivity. One can never fully evaluate their state of elevation without comparing to others. All you can say is that you are blessing her so go ahead and do the act.