Two very different teacher training courses

Hullo everyone, there’s a bit of a blurb to start since I’m new here!

I’ve been practising yoga since I was 17 on a very superficial level (occasional lessons interspersed with home practice, working only on basic postures and breathing exercises) but lately I’ve been feeling that it’s high time to step out of the shallow waters and get stuck into yoga much more thoroughly :slight_smile: Right now I’m also going to graduate from University (I studied Fine Art) and move to live permanently with my partner, who lives in a small town in rural northern Sweden.

My partner knows that I’ve had an interest in yoga for some years now and that I want to broaden my practice, so he suggested I take a teaching course when I was ready because there are pretty much no registered yoga teachers in his region, especially during winter, and the few there are will only teach pre-booked groups and don’t cater to individuals wanting to attend open classes.

We looked into the Scandinavian Yoga and Meditation School teacher training, which seemed to cover just about everything, but required four years full-time training at one of their city centres in order to qualify as a teacher and they have a strict attitude on what they see as ‘compulsory’ yoga practices, which I’m not sure I like.

Instead I wondered if it would be better to learn the essentials outlined by the Yoga Alliance at the Sivananda Yoga Centre, and take a YA certified teacher training course? That way I could continue my personal practice and keep developing my own experience and knowledge whilst teaching.

I know from my own experience that even just having the opportunity to learn the basic fundamentals can make a big difference in life, so I’m keen to be able to offer some regular classes in my new home! But I’m also wary of being dismissed by other teachers as just a fast-track learner, or receiving a very poor education and hurting people.

Any thoughts? :confused: