What is the best type of yoga?

While I meant the title of this post to be a bit provocative and controversial, I actually have a real question. I certainly understand that such a question is silly to even ask, as it is highly subjective. However can you recommend specific types of yoga to train specific attributes you are looking for? For instance, if you wanted to improve flexibility, body strength, balance, or general weight loss as a specific goal, which Yoga would be better to start practicing to hone a specific attribute. Obviously yoga would be beneficial for all these categories, but each type of yoga must ‘specialize’ in something, right?

For myself, I’m more of a rock climber, but our gym also offers yoga classes. So for me, body strength / core would be important for me. I’m also a newbie at Yoga, so jumping into the whole ‘power’ yoga thing might be a bit intimidating since I dont’ know very many poses. I’m a relatively ‘good’ climber (v7-v8 boulderer if that means anything to people here), so am fairly ‘fit’ to begin with.

Thanks for any suggestions or info.

Yoga is that which brings one in contact with their spirit. Ergo whichever one does that for YOU, that is the appropriate Yoga. If the question is about appropriate [I]exercise[/I] that should be answered by a personal trainer.

The physical practice of postures is merely a conduit. Just as a wire is not an electrical circuit, postures are not Yoga. Put another way, asana is to yoga as a stone in your shoe is to a mountain. Which pebbles would you walk on to help you with Kilimanjaro?

The best type of yoga, in my opinion, is the one that you enjoy. You’re obviously looking for something more physical, and any of the physical yoga types will give you strength, flexibility, balance, etc. It’s just a matter of how the poses are presented, whether they flow, hold poses, repeat the same sequence or not, etc., and how you enjoy doing it. But yes, I agree with you to start with a beginner level class.