What's your Yoga Music

Hello. I’m new here and I wanted to ask everyone what is your favorite type of music to practice Yoga. I have only been to one beginner Yoga class, and enjoyed it.

After that, I began looking for some music that I can relax, meditate, or do yoga with, and I haven’t really found what I am looking for. Since I’m an aspiring film composer, I thought, “Hey, I’ll just make my own.”

So that is what I’m doing, just as a fun project. But I would very much like to know. “What kind of music do you like to do yoga, relax, or meditate with? …and why?”

Glad to be here, and hope I can learn a lot.

Michael

Hello and welcome Michael.

I'm finding it interesting that you pose this questions as I am new at Yoga Forums myself.  I feel like I'm am writing lengthy posts, but at the same time feel as if they are the Readers Digest condensed versions. That's fun!  I'm in the middle of both thoughts.  I had posted something with regard to what you asked just last night.  You can follow the thread for DVD recommendations, but I'll copy and paste a portion of what I had posted to Makena.  

Music selection is always fun. You will find different schools of thought on music. Should we be quieting the mind or distracted by music but I Like to experiment with both as options. Here is one of my playlist for an upbeat practice. Includes many genres of music. What relaxes one person definitely can upset another. Try some of these artists... 

Shiva Manas Puja Asana
Angels of the Sea Tajalli
Om The Moody Blues
A Smile That Explodes Joseph Arthur
Catch the Wind Joan Baez, Donavan
Reaching for Light Lizzie West & The White Buffalo
All We Have Brett Dennen
Beauty of the Sea The Gabe Dixon Band
Krsna Pranam Jaya Lakshmi & Deva Priyo
What a Day Greg Laswell
If Not for You Phil Keaggy
I Try Ben Taylor
Spirits Ty Burhoe
Samba Sadashiva Donna De Lory
Getting Some Fun Out of Life Madeleine Peyroux
Elements Into Light Layne Redmond (Bija seed sounds)