When Yoga Makes Me Angry - Back off or Push Deeper?

I’ve been practicing yoga almost daily for the past two months (at home practices/online videos), and starting to bump up the intensity of the practice. I’ve noticed each practice pulling forth a different emotion every time. Much like a box of chocolates, I don’t know what i’ll get when I pull out the mat. There’s been laughter, crying, tingling, numbness, lightheaded, etc. This past practice I got so angry I didn’t even finish. Which I feel guilty about.

My question is, when the emotions get that intense (I was literally cussing under my breath and felt such resentment in my chest) what is the best coarse of action? Stop holding the pose and go into something calming like child’s pose? Do a yoga practice that isn’t as emotionally intense the next time around? Stay in the pose and breath through it?

Any suggestions of thoughts are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Without knowing your practice - since you've not outlined it, it's difficult to properly advise you. An inappropriate practice can certainly result in anything from a headache to rage, and all points in between. For example, students doing certain pranayama can absolutely churn up powerful emotions, not to mention direct energy into the organic body in ways that are, well, less than wholesome. My point is that in asking about your practice please share it so we don't have to guess what you mean.

Certainly asana brings up things for the student to look at, examine, and process. that is a fine process when it's supported and well guided rather than solo and isolated.

Balasana, or Child's Pose is an introspective pose which is incorrectly labeled as a "resting " pose. Not everyone finds introspection to be calming and not at all points in time. If you find it calming, that's fabulous. But it is not the posture I'd advocate for an overly introspective student as it can worsen the state of things.