Which is the Yoga Book you like the best?

Yoga is 99% practice and 1% knowledge. ~Sri Krishna Pattabhi Jois

I feel practice of yoga without complementary study is incomplete. Although practice is the most important aspect if one wants to progress in yoga, I feel books are also equally important. Reading the books keep us motivated and every time a read about an asana I get new perspective on that asana.

The books which I have liked are …

[B]Light on Yoga[/B] By [I]Shri BKS Iyengar[/I]
[B]Asana Pranayama Mudra Bandha[/B] By [I]Swami Satyananda Saraswati[/I]

Apart from these I also enjoy Yogajournal. I find the articles inspiring.

I would like to know which books you are reading.

Hi nilendub!

I am also a reader, and feel exactly the same as you about being inspired and motivated through books and articles on yoga. I have too much more to read before I can choose “best”. Actually I’m not very good at choosing just one, but will look through my shelves and see if I can list some favorites for you soon.

Right now I am reading " A Physiological Handbook for Teachers of Yogasana" by Mel Robin, “The Heart of Yoga” by T.K.V.Desikachar (for about the 10th time - great book!) and “Survival of the Sickest” by Dr. Sharon Moalem, which isn’t really yoga, but I’m fascinated by neurogenetics and evolutionary medicine.

wendy

Thanks Wendy for sharing your views…I think Each author has different perspective. Also Just going into a pose is one thing and knowing where to concentrate your awareness is another issue. Right method and right awareness are very important, which can be had from usually from a good teacher. Only problem is usually teachers may not be able to pay individual attention in a class.

If we come back home and study about that asana we add to our learning. So in a way study should be supplementary to Class room.

Hello,

In addition to the books you mention, I also use “Hatha Yoga Illustrated” as a reference guide for asana

Sean