Yin vs. Yang Yoga?

I’ve been hearing buzz around Yin yoga and Yang yoga. I was wondering, does anybody know the difference between the two? It sounds as if Yin is more passive and Yang are more active poses but I am unsure.

Thanks!

Good Question Cher Z! I happen to teach a Yin/Yang Yoga class and it is my favorite! I’ve been teaching this class for about 3 years now.

Yin is passive and quiet. Poses are help upwards of 5 minutes depending on the students ability. It stretches the deep connective tissue that a regular Yang, or more active class does not. And most of the time it is done cold, meaning without warm up. There are sequences for Yin, but one does not have to practice this way. It works the muscles from the hips down. Although, I have on occasion, used a pose like Thread the Needle as a yin pose. Some teachers use yin after a yang practice, but most don’t. I start off my class with 2-4 yin poses that will assist in our yang practice. I have found that a quiet Yin practice before the Yang portion works best.

Yang, as you correctly stated is active and warm. Power, ashtanga, vinyasa flow, etc. It’s what you normally think of when one talks of yoga. Usually you begin with some warm ups and then proceed to a more active practice.

They are a beautiful compliment to each other in a practice and the Yin portion really helps the student with breathing, turning inward, meditating and focusing.

Have you interest in this type of yoga?

You need both. Balance is the key here…One is energetic and the otheer more meditative, holding poses for longer etc.Ashtanga V Iyengar is the good example for contrast…

Thanks everyone. I’m having a hard time getting back into yoga after a long absence and I like the “hold the pose” passive approach better than the active up and down poses. For some reason, I get a lot more benefits out of that.

Was going to try a yin class tonight so your posts help me understand. Thanks!