Yoga Anatomy Books

Hello All,

I am looking for recommendations on books that focus on the anatomy of the different yoga postures (the muscles, ligaments, and bones they use etc).

I have read some brief forum posts here listing David Coulter’s Anatomy of Hatha yoga and Paul grilley’s yoga anatomy dvd series. I also had a friend recommend Illustrated Light on Yoga by B.K.S. Iyengar.

If you could recommend any other books or provide personal feedback for any of the above it would be greatly appreciated.

“The Key Poses of Hatha Yoga” and “The Key Muscles of Hatha Yoga” both by Ray Long and published by Bandhayoga is in my opinion two excellent books. I studied from them and still use them. You can order them here: http://www.bandhayoga.com/

Also try “The anatomy of Hatha Yoga” by H. David Coulter. I think these three books should give you excellent insights.

[QUOTE=Distance;52063]Hello All,

I am looking for recommendations on books that focus on the anatomy of the different yoga postures (the muscles, ligaments, and bones they use etc).

I have read some brief forum posts here listing David Coulter’s Anatomy of Hatha yoga and Paul grilley’s yoga anatomy dvd series. I also had a friend recommend Illustrated Light on Yoga by B.K.S. Iyengar.

If you could recommend any other books or provide personal feedback for any of the above it would be greatly appreciated.[/QUOTE]

Coulter’s anatomy is good. I have a copy and have found it useful.

Trail Guide to the Body.

I have “Yoga Anatomy” by Leslie Kaminoff/Human Kinetics. The illustrations are great and explanations and bulletpoints are easy to understand. ISBN: 9780736062787

thanks for info much appreciated. I am currently library diving to check these out =)

In addition to those mentioned:

Stretching anatomy by Arnold G. Nelson and Jouko Kokkonen This is a wonderfully illustrated book!