Yoga and Meditation Question

I am new to this forum, so hello! I am happy to be here. I have been doing yoga for a couple years and I am just now starting to experiment with meditation. My question is in regards to combining meditation and yoga. It has come to my attention that most of the yoga classes I attend do not have extended meditation as part of the class. I am wondering why this is? The class might have a five minute meditation BEFORE the class, or allow you to lay down in savasana for 15 minutes, but they never have you sit for an extended period after completing a series of postures. It is my historical understanding the yoga was originally created to relax and tire out the body so that a meditative state can be reached more easily. I think this is wonderful, but find that most people who regularly do yoga, myself included, do not meditate immediately after . . that’s if they meditate at all. I am all for the benefits of yoga without meditation . . . but in my current practice I am wanting both. It feels weird to get up and meditate in the morning and then rush off in my car to a studio to do a yoga class, it’s the opposite of what things used to be. Has anyone else come across this dilemma? I am open to any sort of response, as I was hoping to get a discussion going about the role of meditation and yoga and how the two work, or don’t work together. Thanks guys!

-Anna

I do it for a few minutes after my practice. But what the hell do I know. Apparently I can’t even get the position right.:slight_smile:

Hi Anna.

You can do the meditation before or after the postures.

The postures were desinged to relax the body so the job of relaxing and stilling the mind could come easier,especially if you look at the progression of the 8 limbs of ashtanga yoga.

Having said that, i think you could also:-

A) Use all the limbs together as supporting and inter-connected like a patchwork quilt.