Yoga as a career

I’ve been practising yoga for 2 1/2 years and want to get my instructor certification. I’d love to be able to make a career out of yoga, is that a feasible goal?

First of all you need to decide why do you wan to teach. Be honest to yourself. That will define how good you will be.

There are a lot of schools offering different certificates, I went to one extensive training and I did not lean anything new.

Personal, I do not like giving yoga a tags, so to say brand names. Yoga is yoga and there is usually so little difference between styles. (except maybe Bichram:)

In my class I like to mix everything. (I get really pissed off when people making faces when I say that I do not teach any Brand Name yoga style).

I was raised in Iyengar tradition, but I like sun salutations for warm up, and we do meditation and “energy (kundalini) practice” 30 minutes before class, sometimes mixed with chanting. Sometimes I do “Bichram breath” for the warm up in class.

Yoga means Union. Take meditation away (like some power yoga schools did) and you can’t call it yoga any more. It becomes just an aerobics. Take away holding the pose - and again you can call it yoga any more. Take away yoga diet, cleansing, yama and niyama and you can not call it yoga.

Yoga poses is just a tiny piece of yoga practice. You will not get 100% benefits if you apply pose incorrectly, ignoring bandhas and mudras.

Yoga is holistic and make sure you will be the one who will keep all Parts of that UNION together!

1 Like

If by “career” you mean your sole source of income AND you have “normal” expenses then it would require you to be very crafty to earn a living teaching yoga without sacrificing the yoga in order to increase your income.