Yoga for an ex-smoker?

Hello! I quit smoking about 5 weeks ago, and I’ve read about the benefits of yoga for healing the lungs and correcting poor posture. I know that there are a ton of different styles of yoga, so I’m looking for recommendations on the best type of yoga for someone in my condition (novice with mediocre lung capacity, 35 year old hoping to conceive in the next year). General recommendations on type are welcome, along with any specific recommendations of videos to start with.

Thanks in advance!

Stephanie

1 Like

Hatha, or any yoga for that matter that has Yoga Breathing or Pranayama, and as far as I know, And that really id not to far, they all have an element of Pranayama.

Thank you! I will try that.

What about the breathing techniques that will help to recover my lungs after 6 years of smoking?
Is there any special guidance or book that may help me to find out more about Breathing, Pranayama in Yoga?

Much of my background is Internal Chinese Martial Arts and Qigong, much more than yoga. Breathing exercises are great, so with that said a good qigong class would also work rather well for both breathing and meditation

1 Like

This is super helpful. Thanks so much! I will definitely look into that.

Stephanie,