Yoga for Restless legs

“While I’m not a medical doctor I don’t particularly by in to “restless legs” even though it’s now advertised as a “syndrome” on the telly. That manifestation is usually disruption of the nervous system. It is remedied in a variety of ways but not the point of this post.”

This was a comment InnerAthlete made to another poster on another problem.

I suffer since I can remember from “restless legs” and have come to accept it and live with it. I can’t say if anything triggers it, I have studied my diet over the years and cannot pinpoint anything in my diet that would trigger it. It is worse at night when I go to sleep, most of the time during the day I am not even aware of it. The occurance is very random, sometimes weeks will go past without any occurance and then one night it is back, without any warning. It is specifically located in my calf muscles and nowhere else in my legs. I can describe it as follow: it is just an urge that come over me to constantly flex my calf muscles and usually this reliefs the lame feeling I get when I hold them still. What I can say is that since I started yoga 12 years ago its frequency is becoming less and less. In the past it used to be about every second night, now it occur once every 2-3 weeks maybe.

I am currently 39, was full vegetarian until a few months ago when my homeopath and nutritionist strongly recommended that I include fish again in my diet due to certain deficiencies that became too serious for them. I now eat fish about 2-3 times a week again. I drink one cup of coffee every morning, my only “luxury” I allow myself. Avoid sugars, drink no alcohol, no processed or refined foods and eats lots of veggies and fruits and drink more than enough water the rest of the day.

I was wondering if anyone out there might have some advice for it and InnerAthlete if I may kindly ask for the remedies you recommend.

Hi Pandara!