Yoga for women

Om Mukunda

I started practicing Yoga (Asana, Pranayama, Meditation, Chanting and all) 17 years ago. Somewhere along the Path I figured that Yoga was discovered/invented by men. Men have a different phisical, emotional and mental complexion from woman + I am a woman = How can I trust Yoga to work for me?

I just now started learning from a woman “Women’s Yoga”, which combines studies of female hormones, the menstural cicle, pregnancy and birth ect. with practices centering on the pelvis, mulabanda and how to adjust daily practice to female changes. It is an enlightning course.
Whithin the Yoga-Sutra we study sutras in the mirror of change and womanhood. The Spiritual part of Unity and Meditation seems to me to be the same, while asana and pranayama (including flexibility of practice) differ.

It interests me greatly to hear what you have to say about this subject - would be gratefull for your reply
Om Shanti
Raya

This is indeed an excellent topic to address. The men in contemporary yoga have been dominating the teachings for sometime and as a result the woman’s voice is soft. Consider that Indra Devi a Latvia Russian was the first western woman given yoga teachings in 1937 by Krishnamacharya. From her it has blossomed into a fullness such that now 80% of the practitioners of yoga are women. It is wonderful for women to attend yoga seminars taught by long term yoginis so they can experience how the practice is of tremendous benefit. I was recently at Kripalu and while teaching there Angela Farmer was leading a retreat celebrating womanhood. Such teachers are gems to be with. Now we have many more women spiritual teachers to benefit us too. Consider Ammachi, the hugging Mother, and many others who come to serve their children. Also note that certain yoga texts give some specific details for women such as the Yoga Rahasya (published by KYM - Krishnamacharya Yoga Mandiram) and the Nawa Yogini Tantra (published by the Bihar School of YOga).