Yoga newbie...but foot pain?

Hi everyone,

I’m brand new to yoga - only done 2 sessions so far. I find that when I practice yoga my feet (especially my arches) feel like they’re on fire, so much that I have to pull out of the pose. I have been doing yoga barefoot, but should I think about trying it with shoes. My yoga mat is also very, very cushy - could it be too thick and soft?

Thanks for the help!!

With any medical issue it is advisable to seek a qualified medical practitioner.

Common arch pain is often a sign of degeneration of the plantar fascia a thick band of collagen fibers that run from the ball of your foot to your heel bone.
There may point out a heel spur or biomechanics such as gait issues.

Now what kind of treatments are among what you might expect for rehabilitation?

RICE Rest after effort ice the area and elevate the area as a tried and true method for many sports related injuries.

Alternating with heat before exertion may be an option to consider as well.

Orthoc heel inserts may be recommended and these may even be covered by your medical plan.

A plantar fasciitis night splint may also be recommended to gently stretch the calf muscles and plantar fascia to prevent them from tightening up overnight.

A qualified sports injury professional may also recommend or administer massage efforts and monitor your gait running and walking style and even footwear to see if there are any other efforts that are exacerbating your situation.

A Doctor may prescribe anti-inflammatory medication and/or topical analgesics.

What kind of stretches might a qualified medical practitioner recommend?

Rolling a tennis ball or bottle or other efforts are common rehab methods for manipulating the plantar fascia.

Stretching the plantar fascia calf muscles (Gastrocnemius muscles and Soleus muscles) will likely be recommended by most sports injury professionals.