Yoga Sutras

Hi all I am studying to become a yoga instructor, I would just like to get anyones thoughts on the Yoga Sutras and what you think I will learn from reading them.

Thank you
Tonsa

There’s no way at all to know what another person will or will not learn from a particular reading.

Generally speaking the work you ask about is a logical codification of practices predating the work. In other words the author (or authors, depending on your viewpoint) brings together succinct statements (aphorisms) which together and in order comprise a system of practice.

Some read this work and focus only on learning it, reciting it, memorizing it, but fail to live it. Others read it as though it were the only foundational work available and foster dogma in their thinking. A few read it, along with other works, and use it to formulate a tempered, robust, sensible living to reduce human suffering.

At minimum, for a new teacher, the study therein should build familiarity with the eight-limbed system and an understanding of yama, niyama, and kleshas.

Thank you Gordon for your words of wisdom, I appreciate your viewpoint and I do hope that I will be able to carry forward what I learn from The Yoga Sutras into my own practice.

I would like to approach it as a guide to being a good person, and being able to deal with the everyday stresses of life - kind of like a nonreligious Ten Commandments. When you feel good about yourself, that positive energy translates throughout the rest of you life.

Namaste

You’re welcome.

Basically the Sutras can be thought of as a message from Patanjali that might go something like this:

“There is human suffering. You know of it and I know of it. Here is a system for reducing that suffering. Take it if you want less suffering. It is most effective when it is taken wholly and practiced diligently over time. It does not make you a good person if you do it and you are not a bad person if you do not.”