Yoga teacher training -- worth it?

I am considering doing YTT with a respected local studio. Is it worth it? Money is tight and the cost is 2,000. I have been practicing for about ten years sporadically, and want to deepen my practice, but not necessarily teach. I am curious what people who have done it think about their experience. Thanks.

If you are not looking to teach, perhaps it would be more recommended to take another type of class or retreat that would offer a deeper self-practice. That is a lot of money and a large commitment. I’m sure that the teachers from your studio could recommend somewhere good to visit that wouldn’t cost quite so much. You could also ask if they know of someone who could offer you private lessons, to give you guidance in self-study and learn to apply what you learn to your life and your practice. Good luck!

If you want to deepen your practice from something you describe as ‘sporadic’, I offer that the next step is daily practice.

There are many ways to deepen one’s practice without spending $2,000. At the same time, there are some teachers, some training, that is absolutely worth more than it’s financial cost.

There are two concepts I’d share if I were asked by my student(s). The first is that ultimately only they can know where they are called to be - whether that is a training, an occupation, a relationship, or a side dish for dinner.

The second is to find a workshop or training where they absolutely had exposure and direction to the process of finding number one.

Hi , i am doing my TTC now and i think the most important is to know your intention for taking TTC.If your intention is just to deepen your practice , i would suggest you to read alot and attend workshops and classes. Explore more teachers and you will definately learn alot more from different teachers.