Yoga Tips for Beginners

Hi,

I’m very excited because my mat just arrived today!
I’m eager to learn my first pose but there are a lot of yoga styles.
I’m confused which one to follow.

I’m not fat.
I’m not also very thin.
I work at home.
I’ll do yoga at home.
But my work requires a lot of sitting which is not good for my health.

I’ve never done yoga before.

What are the things you did when you were a beginner which you think worked well?
What are the things I must or mustn’t do?

Hope you can help me. :slight_smile:

1 Like

I went to class, listen to the teacher, and was not in a hurry, that is pretty much all I got.

Also, there is Chair Yoga for your office. I believe Rodney Yee use to have a free video on his site for Chair Yoga

2 Likes

Found the link to chair yoga for your office

Hi SCMT!

Thank you very much for it!

I’ll surely do this one. :slight_smile:

I like many of Rodney Yee’s DVDs and his book with associated program is pretty good too. He also does seminar in various places from time to time. There use to be a poster on YogaForums @lotusgirl that had been to a few of his seminars and she thought they were good and she rather enjoyed going

Post deleted, it was a double post

Looked at it and it is ok,although it got more the feeling of sales than info.

I like these sites better

https://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-8622/14-styles-of-yoga-explained-simply.html

1 Like

Hi, Iam new to yoga , just want to share some of the tips with you guys,

The traditional and non-competitive approach of Yoga practice - comprising the Five Points of Yoga outlined below - helps one to be fully at home in one’s body, with oneself and the world.

1. PROPER EXERCISE