Downward dog help

So I have done yoga off and on for a couple years now. I’m a student so unfortunately my routine is spastic depending on my work load. This being my last quarter in college, I’ve found myself with the time to do yoga everyday again. Things are going great, but my downward dog looks terrible. It always has. I am not sure if this particular pose just takes a lot of time to work on, or if I am doing it wrong. (I am attaching a picture so you can see.) In the past I’ve focused on being able to bring my feet flat on the floor, but that is something I can do now. It is my hips/back that are awful. I can’t seem to get my back straight. So where should I go from here? Work on pushing my chest down and gradually wait for my body to become more flexible or what?

Thanks for the help! I am so excited I found this site :slight_smile:

Welcome to the forum, it’s awesome to have you here :slight_smile: And that you for posting the picture, that’s mighty useful.

Downward facing dog is most definitely a challenging pose. Your pose doesn’t look terrible, it’s beautiful in a myriad of ways. I have no doubt that people will be along to give you all kinds of great pointers. I shall focus on just one as it’s something I have felt in my body and been working on for years now.

You mention you’ve been focusing on getting your feet flat to the floor. By the looks of it, was this accomplished by shortening your stance? You’d get into downward dog and then walk your feet in a little to get them flat on the ground?

Thanks for the photo.

It’s your hamstrings that are tight. They are preventing your pelvis from tilting forward enough to move your lower back out of the rounded position that you see in the picture.

To improve, you want to do to things:

1. Strengthen the muscles that lift your lower back forward into its natural lumbar curve.
  2. Stretch the hamstrings.