So confused about diet!

Hello friends,
i am new to these forums. I have been practicing yoga for a few years on and off and would like to hear suggestions on how to eat to support the practice. I am frustrated because there is so much mixed information out there but i personally dont know how to listen to my body yet so would like some general guidelines. Some of the things I have read talk about how dairy is great for yoga practitioners but so many these days say that dairy should be avoided. I personally love dairy but dont want to be doing something to my body that may not be good. I appreciate the help.

Hi Samasthiti

A yogic diet is a sattvic vegetarian diet. Most of us with internet access are fortunate to live in an area of the world where access to a wide variety of plant-based foods are available.

There are several websites and videos online detailing delicious and nutritious vegetarian, vegan and raw food recipes.

You can read about what a “sattvic diet” is on any ayurvedic website.

Dairy is big in Indian food. However these days, with dairy cows being ill treated on industrial dairy farms and in slaughter houses, vegans have good ethical reasons for refraining from milk and its products.

Whether or not dairy is healthy for your body is something that only your body can tell you.

Non-organic factory dairy products are full of synthetic hormones and other chemicals.

I agree with most of the above.

Mostly listen to your body and think about what you are eating…think about how the food is farmed, processed, transported, stored etc…make up your own mind how you feel about these things…
Observe closely and carefully how your body feels when you eat different foods…how you energy, mood and yoga practices are affected.